Getting a Learner's Permit

Georgia residents can apply for a learner's permit starting at age 15. To get this permit, also called a Class CP Instructional Permit, teens will need to bring a number of documents with them, pay a $10 fee, pass a vision test, and pass a test based on road signs and road rules. All of the necessary components needed to receive a learner's permit are as follows:

  • Documentation showing your identity, residential address, full social security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States. A complete Checklist of All Accepted Documents can be found on Georgia DDS website.
  • A Georgia DDS Certificate of School Enrollment (DS-1) must be signed and notarized from your school. This document is only valid for 30 days.
  • All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a high school diploma, GED, special diploma, certification of high school completion, or proof of enrollment in a GED program or a postsecondary school.
  • All documents presented must be in English.
  • If you are under the age of 18, you are required to have a parent/guardian, responsible adult or authorized Driver Training Instructor to sign the application for the driver's license. Responsible adult only applies to emancipated applicants with court ordered documentation. The signer of the application has the authority to request the driver's license be revoked at any time before your 18th birthday.
  • Any out of state permits, licenses, or ID cards must be surrendered. If the teen held a license or permit in another state and the card has been lost or stolen, a certified copy of the teen's driving record or motor vehicle report, dated within the last 30 days, from the issuing state is also required.
  • Sufficient eyesight. You will have to pass a vision test, conducted by a mechanical device. If you wear glasses or contact lenses, you can wear them for the vision test as well.
  • $10 to pay the charge for taking the knowledge exam. This fee can be paid by cash, check, or card and is not refundable. If you fail the test, you will have to pay another $10 to retake it.
  • A passing score in the knowledge exam. This test is divided into two parts: a road signs exam and a road rules exam. Each portion is 20 questions, and each part must be passed by getting at least 15 questions correct in each. JoshuasLaw.com offers a free practice test to help you prepare.

Conditions of a Learner's Permit

A Georgia learner's permit allows you to drive a standard passenger vehicle only with supervision. You must have someone sitting next to you over the age of 21 who has their license and is physically able to drive at the time. The permit is valid for a period of two years.

 

Basic Requirements- PROVISIONAL D LICENSE (Age 16-17)

  • Applicant must be at least 16 years of age.
  • Applicant must have held an Instructional Permit for a minimum one year and a day Permit must also be surrendered at time of testing.
  • No major traffic violations that resulted in the suspension of the Instructional Permit and prohibit issuance of a Class D.
  • A minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving experience with at least 6 hours of driving at night.
  • If 16 years of age, Joshua Law Requirementsmust be satisfied.
  • Pass Vision Test
  • Pass applicable Road Skills Test
  • Applicant under age 18 is required to have parent/guardian, responsible adult or authorized driver training instructor to sign the application for the driver's license. Responsible adult only applies to emancipated applicants with court ordered documentation. They also have the authority to request the driver's license to be revoked at any time before the applicant’s 18th birthday.

Documents Required

  • Documentation showing your identity, residential address, full social security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States.
  • Applicants new to Georgia must surrender any out-of-state driver's license/permit/ID card.
  • If the applicant previously was issued a driver's license/permit/ID card in another state, and that card has been lost or stolen, the applicant must provide a certified copy of his or her driving record or motor vehicle report from the state that issued the card. The Motor Vehicle Reportmust be dated within the last 30 days. The DDS does not accept uncertified copies printed from websites, but a fax may be sent to the DDS directly from the other state agency.
  • A Georgia DDS Certificate of School Enrollment (DS-1) must be signed and notarized from the applicant’s school.  It is only valid for 30 days.
  • All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a high school diploma, GED, special diploma, certification of high school completion, or proof of enrollment in a GED program or a postsecondary school.
  • ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion.
  • All documents must be in English.

 Conditions/Restrictions of Provisional D License

  • May not drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. (Effective July 1, 2014), no exceptions.
  • During the first six (6) months following issuance, only immediate family members can ride in the vehicle.
  • During the second six (6) months, following issuance, only one (1) passenger under 21 years of age and who is not a member of the driver’s immediate family can ride in the vehicle.
  • After the first and second six (6) month periods, only 3 passengers under 21 years of age and who are not members of the driver's immediate family can ride in the vehicle.

 

 

 

0
0
0
s2smodern