What is Joshua's Law?

Senate Bill 226 also known as "Joshua's Law" was passed during the 2005 General Assembly. Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16 year-olds applying for a Class D driver's license must complete an approved driver education course and complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these requirements have been met. Any Georgia resident who has not completed an approved driver education course must be at least 17 years old to be eligible for a Class D driver's license. He or she must have completed a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. The same verification in writing by a parent or guardian is required.

Is your 30 hour Driver's Ed course approved?

Our course is approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) and meets all Joshua's Law requirements.

How much does this course cost?

The price is $29.95. We have no hidden costs like other competitors. Your Certificate will be emailed to you and we do that for free.

What is a "30 and 6" driver's education course?

A 30 and 6 driver's education course is a course that consists of at least 30 hours of classroom training on the rules of the road and other related matters and 6 hours of behind the wheel training, where the student is driving the vehicle while an approved instructor observes and coaches the student's driving performance. Insurance companies require teen drivers to complete a 30 and 6 course before offering any premium discounts.

What are the different methods to obtain driver education?

  • 30 hours of classroom training and 6 hours of behind the wheel training at an approved DDS school (students will also need an additional 40 hours of supervised driving); or
  • 30 hours of classroom training at an approved DDS school and completion of the 40 hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide (The parent taught is a 40 hour comprehensive driving course); or
  • Completion of a DDS approved online program and 6 hours of behind the wheel training at an approved DDS school (students will also need an additional 40 hours of supervised driving); or
  • Completion of a DDS approved online program and completion of the 40 hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide (The parent taught is a 40 hour comprehensive driving course).
  • ALL STUDENTS MUST HAVE 6 HOURS OF SUPERVISED DRIVING AT NIGHT.

What are the eligibility requirements?

You must be at least 15 years old to be eligible to take this course.

What happens if I do not pass this course?

Most people pass each quiz the first time. However, if you fail a lesson quiz, you will have to retake it as many times as necessary until you achieve a 70% or better before moving on to the next lesson.

How long does this course take to complete?

As per DDS requirements, our online Georgia Driver Education course is 30 hours in length. Each lesson has a timer on it that requires a minimum amount of time be spent it, to ensure that you are absorbing the material.

However, you can divide up your course however you'd like! Complete a little at a time, or tackle several lessons in one sitting: it's up to you! We provide 24/7 online access with an unlimited number of logins. Just use your username and password to log in, and we will take you back to where you last left off.

Do I need to complete a supervised driving?

Yes. Supervised driving is a requirement for all Georgia teens who wish to get a driver's license. If you are 16 and want to get a driver's license, you will need to complete both a driver education course and the supervised driving requirement. The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) put together The 40-Hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide to assist parents and teens with the road skills (supervised driving) portion of driver training. As its name suggests, it requires 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 of which must be at night.

If you are 17, you are not required to complete a driver education course (though we strongly recommend it). You are only required to complete the supervised driving requirement (40 hours of supervised driving, 6 of which must be at night).

What is the Parent/Teen Driving Guide? 

The Parent/Teen Guide is a handbook that provides suggestions for in-car lessons to help parents prepare their teenagers for the responsibilities of driving. This technical assistance guide provides parents with a systematic approach to teach their teenagers to make safe driving decisions. The suggested lessons in the guide follow a sequential learning pattern that progresses from the parking lot to neighborhoods, to light traffic to rural highways, to expressways and then to city driving. The Parent/Teen Driving Guide can be used in conjunction with a DDS approved online driver education course to meet the requirements of Joshua's Law.

 

fShare
0
0
0
0
s2smodern

Drivers Ed Contact

Driver's Ed Questions?

Instructor McLeod

con tel 404-936-4383

emailButton driversed@justdriveright.com